"Spend a few minutes reading College Football Resource" - Whit Watson, Sun Sports

"Maybe you should start your own blog" - Bruce Feldman, ESPN

"[An] Excellent resource for all things college football. It’s blog index is the definitive listing of the CFB blogosphere ... [A] must-read for fans." - Sports Illustrated (On Campus)

"The big daddy of them all, the nerve center of this twisted college football blogsphere" - The House Rock Built

"Unsurprisingly, College Football Resource has generated some discussion" -Dawg Sports

Top Teams 2008

After Week Seven

  1. Alabama
  2. Penn State
  3. Texas
  4. Oklahoma
  5. Florida
  6. USC
  7. Georgia
  8. LSU
  9. BYU
  10. Missouri
  11. Ohio State
  12. Oklahoma State
  13. Texas Tech
  14. Utah
  15. Kansas
  16. USF
  17. North Carolina
  18. Miami
  19. Boise State
  20. Georgia Tech
Search CFR
Submission Corner
« Happy Thanksgiving | Main | More Fresno State followup for Bush »

A bit of awards projection

I found this fan ballot for various CFB awards this year on ESPN.com.  The finalists have been decided, so now the fun task of picking winners is at hand.  Review the list and projections below, and be sure and tune into the "College Football Awards Show" on ESPN on Thursday December 8 from 7-9 PM Eastern.

The awards process is part of the run-up to the Heisman ceremony (December 10) and bowl season. 

Bednarik Award-Outstanding defensive player


  • A.J. Hawk, Ohio State linebacker
  • D'Dqwell Jackson, Maryland linebacker
  • Paul Posluszny, Penn State linebacker

Who will win: Tossup between Hawk and Posluszny.  If pressed I'll say Posluszny because there's some Penn State tradition in winning the award already.

Who should win: Hawk

Biletnikoff Award-Outstanding wide receiver


  • Mike Haas, Oregon State
  • Dwayne Jarrett, USC
  • Jeff Samardzija, Notre Dame

Who will win: Jarrett

Who should win: Jarrett.  Has had an amazing season.

Lou Groza Award-kicker


  • Mason Crosby, Colorado
  • Jad Dean, Clemson
  • Alexis Serna, Oregon State

Who will win: Crosby

Who should win: Crosby, although Serna is an amazing story considering that he started his career by missing three extra points against LSU last year in a narrow loss.

Ray Guy Award-punter


  • Danny Baugher, Arizona
  • Ryan Plackemeier, Wake Forest
  • John Torp, Colorado

Who will win: Baugher

Who should win: Baugher.  His efforts against USC alone made him nomination-worthy.

Maxwell Award-outstanding player


  • Reggie Bush, USC
  • Matt Leinart, USC
  • Vince Young, Texas

Who will win: Leinart

Who should win: Young.  Carved out a name for Texas in a season more or less dedicated to USC.

Davey O'Brien Award-outstanding quarterback


  • Matt Leinart, USC
  • Brady Quinn, Notre Dame
  • Vince Young, Texas

Who will win: Leinart

Who should win: Leinart.  Best quarterback the college game has seen to this point.

Outland Trophy-interior lineman


  • Marcus McNeill, Auburn offensive tackle (how is this interior line?)
  • Greg Eslinger, Minnesota offensive center
  • Haloti Ngata, Oregon defensive tackle

Who will win: McNeill

Who should win: Eslinger.  Minnesota's offense will never be the same when he's gone.

Jim Thorpe Award-defensive back


  • Michael Huff, Texas
  • Tye Hill, Clemson
  • Jimmy Williams, Virginia Tech

Who will win: Huff

Who should win: Williams.  Dominant at both corner and safety.

Doak Walker Award-running back


  • Reggie Bush, USC
  • Jerome Harrison, Washington State
  • DeAngelo Williams, Memphis

Who will win: Bush

Who should win: Bush.  Harrison and Williams had unbelievable seasons, but Bush is a can't-miss choice here.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.